beauty Tale – What lies Beneath?

Consider yourself forewarned. You may see images here which do not fit society’s standard of what is perceived as Beautiful.

Oh I am SO very sorry about that!

I guess I have been hiding under a rock as I really haven’t taken notice of what is going on in the world of Beauty lately. Until today, when I decided to flip through a pile of about 5,000 magazines which my daughters have been accumulating.

I figured, why not? My kids are all either away or ignoring me. Let’s see what is going on here. Maybe I can pick up a tip or two.

What I have noticed is a trend. Celebrities posing in the buff or, gasp, without their make-up on. I am lmfao because some of the associated “articles” are applauding this feat as if one had just solved the Pythagorean Theorem.

Whoop-do-freaking-do!

Now don’t me wrong. I appreciate beauty and love fashion. Furthermore, my head turns when I see someone visually attractive. I happen to be the proud mother of quite the head-turner. I recognize and understand many view her as a very exquisite beauty.

However to me, she is beautiful because of what emanates from within. I know the smiles she produces for the camera, or the day she walked a run-way were after years of challenges where I rarely saw a smile cross her face.


Yet, I would never want her to base her worth on her looks. If ever her exterior beauty should be lost somehow, might it mar her sensitive soul? I’m afraid it may. Hence, to all of those whom ask why I have never, and would never take her to a modeling agency. There is your answer. 

Do we actually ever think about what lies beneath the surface? What makes one truly beautiful to you?

“The most beautiful people we have known are those who have known defeat, known suffering, known loss, and have found their way out of the depths.

These persons have an appreciation, a sensitivity, and an understanding of life that fills them with compassion, gentleness, and a deep, loving concern.

Beautiful people do not just happen.”

                                                                                                                                                         ~ Elizabeth Kubler-Ross

I am just so sick of the stereotypical perception of what is considered beautiful. Newsflash! There really are some women out here who are not morbidly obese, yet do have a few imperfections. Celebrities included.

Yes, perhaps many make it through child-birth or surgeries without a stretch-mark, or a scar, or with their belly buttons perfectly intact.

What about those who don’t?  Does this mean they didn’t exercise, or eat the right foods, or are loved any less? Uh, no. Yet for some reason they are never proudly paraded across magazine covers after giving birth. Or even just a young 20-something, not even a mom yet, who yes, has a couple of flaws.

Why not?

I’d like to see some of these women posing out there, and I don’t mean with their scars hidden, or after their extra belly skin has been cut-away, thrown into the trash, and a new belly button “designed” by a very talented plastic surgeon.

Oh no, not stretch-marks and surgical scars! 

I’m afraid these thighs don’t lie. Bruises and all. 

Are such women any less beautiful?  Are “imperfect” women only suitable to be photographed for the purpose of shock-value or comical Birthday Cards? From what I have seen out there, this seems to be so. Shame on us!

Show me a celebrity, or even show me a SOMEBODY posing with their flaws, and you will hear a “rah-rah” cheer from me!

4 Comments

  1. Well said!

    • Many thanks! I appreciate you stopping by again to read and “like” my post:)

  2. Michael

    Posing with scars? I’d be happy if they just showed their real bodies and and not the photoshopped images of unattainable perfection that fill the magazines now.

    • I agree. I am just saying whatever they’ve got. I should have mentioned that allegedly these such photos were not airbrushed. Thanks for commenting:-)

Leave a Reply

